Go to Contents Go to Navigation

(LEAD Jeonbuk wins K-League championship

All Headlines 16:07 December 04, 2011

(ATTN:UPDATES with more details, photo)

JEONJU, South Korea, Dec. 4 (Yonhap) -- Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors is the champion of South Korean professional football this year.

Jeonbuk beat Ulsan Hyundai FC 2-1 Sunday in the second leg of the K-League final series at its home Jeonju World Cup Stadium, 240 kilometers south of Seoul.

Two Brazilian players, Eninho and Luiz Henrique, scored in the second-half for Jeonbuk, which won its second-ever K-League crown, following its first in 2009.

Jeonbuk edged Ulsan 2-1 in the opening leg of the finals in Ulsan on Wednesday. In the home-and-away K-League championship series, winners are determined on an aggretated score after a game each on contestants' home pitch.

Trailing 1-0 in the second half, Eninho evened the score on a penalty in the 59th minute. Eninho had both goals for Jeonbuk in the first leg, with the first one also coming on the penalty.

Luiz Henrique then put Jeonbuk up by one with a great individual effort. The speedster took the ball at midfield, dribbled past two Ulsan defenders, and launched a high shot from just inside the box, out of reach of the jumping Ulsan keeper Kim Young-kwang.

Eninho has proven to be a clutch player for Jeonbuk again. In the 2009 final, he had two goals in the winning effort. The Brazilian now has five career goals in the final, more than any other K-Leaguer.

Ulsan, having lost the first game by one goal, needed to win the second game by at least two goals to capture the crown without needing extra time or penalties. Former Premier League winger Seol Ki-hyeon did put the visitors on board in the 56th minute off a free kick, but Ulsan couldn't hold on to the lead.

Ulsan was the first No. 6 seed to reach the final in the current six-team playoff setting, which was introduced in 2007.

The championship caps off a vastly successful season for Jeonbuk. It finished first in the K-League regular season and led the entire circuit with 67 goals. Jeonbuk was also runner-up at the Asian Football Confederation (AFC) Champions League, the continent's top club competition. Jeonbuk ended the year on a 22-game unbeaten streak, with 14 wins and eight draws, tying it with the 2007 Seongnam Ilhwa Chunma club for the all-time record.

Jeonbuk earned 300 million won (US$265,960) as the victor's prize, while Ulsan got 150 million won for second place.

The K-League also announced that it surpassed 3 million total fans for the regular season and the playoffs for the first time in its 28-year history. The Jeonju stadium drew 33,554 fans for the year-end total of about 3.03 million fans.


Send Feedback
How can we improve?
Thanks for your feedback!