Go to Contents Go to Navigation

(2nd LD) Doosan powers past Samsung to win 2015 Korean Series

All Headlines 18:45 October 31, 2015

(ATTN: ADDS details, photo)
By Yoo Jee-ho

SEOUL, Oct. 31 (Yonhap) -- The Doosan Bears are the 2015 champion of South Korean professional baseball.

The Bears blew out the Samsung Lions 13-2 to capture the best-of-seven Korean Series in five games on Saturday, winning their first Korea Baseball Organization (KBO) championship in 14 years and their fourth overall.

The Lions were denied a piece of KBO history, falling short in a bid to win an unprecedented fifth straight title.

The resounding victory before a sellout crowd at home, Jamsil Stadium in Seoul, was sweet payback for the Bears, who blew a 3-1 Korean Series lead over the Lions two years ago and lost in seven games.

Doosan manager Kim Tae-hyung became just the fourth rookie skipper to win the Korean Series. He's also the first to win a Korean Series as a player and a manager for one franchise, having won the title in 1995 as a Bears catcher.

The Bears pounded out 17 hits and put a runner on in every inning, while scoring their first seven runs with two outs. Much-maligned starter Yoo Hee-kwan, who'd struggled mightily in the postseason, held the Lions to two runs on five hits in six-plus innings to be credited with the win.

Playing with a lacerated finger, designated hitter Jung Soo-bin went 3-for-5 with a three-run home run and four RBIs, and was voted the MVP of the series by going 8-for-14 with five RBIs in four games. Cleanup Kim Hyun-soo also enjoyed a three-hit day.

The Bears meant business from the first inning. After two quick outs, they put together three straight hits, the last being a double by Yang Eui-ji that gave the Bears a 2-0 advantage.

The Bears broke open the game with a five-run third. With the men at the corners with two outs, Park Kun-woo lined a single to left center for a 3-0 lead.

After a walk loaded the bases, Ko Young-min, making his first start of the series, hit a single to left center to put the Bears ahead 5-0.

With Samsung starter Jang Won-sam gone after the two-run hit, the Bears quickly got to reliever Jung In-wook. Kim Jae-ho hit a single off Jung's first pitch to make it 6-0, and Ko Young-min later scored on a wild pitch thanks to heads-up base running.

Jung's low pitch deflected off catcher Lee Ji-young and bounced toward the mound, but Ko -- already halfway to the plate when the pitch hit the dirt -- sprinted home and avoided the tag with a head-first slide for a 7-0 lead.

The Lions got one back in the top fourth on a two-out double by Park Sok-min, as right fielder Park Kun-woo misjudged the flight of the ball and let it sail over his head.

The Bears kept piling on in the fifth. Three straight one-out walks loaded the bases, and Hur Kyoung-min's chopper to short brought in a run. Jung Soo-bin then hit a double to right for another run that made it 9-1 for the Bears.

Jang Won-sam, starting on three days' rest, couldn't get out of the third inning. He was charged with seven earned runs on eight hits and two walks in 2 2/3 innings.

In his two starts this Korean Series, Jang gave up 11 earned runs in 8 2/3 innings. He entered this postseason with a 1.80 ERA in seven previous Korean Series appearances, with eight earned runs across 40 innings.

Yoo Hee-kwan, the much-maligned Doosan starter who'd struggled mightily in the postseason, held the Lions to two runs on five hits in six-plus innings.

No. 1 starter Dustin Nippert, who won Game 2 after throwing seven shutout innings, relieved Yoo with two men on with no outs in the seventh and allowed one inherited runner to score on a grounder to short.

Nippert then allowed two straight singles to load the bases but prevented further damage, as Bae Young-seop lined out to second and Yamaico Navarro struck out swinging.

The Bears kept beating on the Lions while they were down, as Jung Soo-bin launched a three-run home run in the bottom seventh for a 12-2 lead. Then in the bottom eighth, the Bears hit three straight singles to load the bases, setting up the stage for Oh Jae-won's sacrifice fly that opened a 13-2 lead.

Nippert left the game with one out in the ninth, and closer Lee Hyun-seung struck out the final two batters and set off wild celebrations in the nation's capital.


Send Feedback
How can we improve?
Thanks for your feedback!