Go to Contents Go to Navigation

Anyang Halla capture Asian hockey title

All News 21:33 April 03, 2016

SEOUL, April 3 (Yonhap) -- South Korean club Anyang Halla captured their third Asian hockey title on Sunday.

Anyang Halla defeated Sakhalin 5-3 for the Asia League Ice Hockey championship at Ice Palace Crystal in Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk, taking the best-of-five finals three games to two. It was Anyang's third title and their first since 2011, when they shared the trophy with the Tohoku Free Blades as the finals were canceled in light of an earthquake in the Tohoku region.

Shin Sang-woo scored the go-ahead goal with two minutes left in the third period, after Anyang had blown a 3-1 lead. Kim Ki-sung scored one into the empty net to seal the deal for Anyang.

Anyang won the first game of the finals before dropping the next two. Then on Saturday Anyang extended the series with a dramatic 1-0 victory as Brock Radunske scored with six seconds remaining.

On Sunday Anyang opened the scoring with Shin Sang-hoon's goal just 5:17 into the match. Sakhalin tied the score 4:08 into the second period on Alexey Eremin's goal, before Anyang pulled away with back-to-back goals by Park Woo-sang and Shin Sang-woo in a seven-minute span midway through second.

Sakhalin refused to go away and tied the score early in the third period with goals by Sergejs Pecura and Dmitrii Fakhrutdinov.

With the clock ticking down, Anyang pulled off another bit of last-minute magic as Shin Sang-woo played the hero, set up for the game winner by his brother Sang-hoon.

Anyang outshot Sakhalin 36-33.


Send Feedback
How can we improve?
Thanks for your feedback!