Go to Contents Go to Navigation

S. Korean scientists' group holds 50th anniversary event

All Headlines 17:17 July 13, 2016

SEOUL, July 13 (Yonhap) -- South Korea's largest group of scientists and engineers on Wednesday celebrated the 50th anniversary of its founding with an international forum.

The Korean Federation of Science and Technology Societies (KOFST) opened the two-day session at the COEX convention center in southern Seoul, joined by hundreds of renowned local and foreign scientists including two Nobel laureates.

"The KOFST's history is the very history of South Korea's advance in science and technology," Hong Nam-ki, vice minister of science, ICT and future planning, said in his congratulatory speech. "It has played a pivotal role in the nation's science-technology community."

The KOFST made a number of important policy proposals such as the enactment of the Science and Technology Framework Law, the creation of a government ministry specializing in the field and tax benefits for research and development (R&D) activities, Hong pointed out.

He emphasized the need for South Korea to advance its R&D in quality on the basis of its improvement in quantity so far.

Other participants in the symposium, titled "the World Congress of Scientists and Engineers," include Ada E. Yonath, the 2009 Nobel Prize winner in chemistry, and Aaron Ciechanover, who won the same prize in 2004, as well as Rolf-Dieter Heuer, president of the Germany Physics Society, and Lee Sung-kyu, an eminent scholar with Ohio University famous for his expertise on alternative energy.


Send Feedback
How can we improve?
Thanks for your feedback!