Go to Contents Go to Navigation

Ruling party splits as 30 lawmakers leave

All Headlines 07:58 December 27, 2016

SEOUL, Dec. 27 (Yonhap) -- A group of lawmakers will formally depart from the ruling Saenuri Party on Tuesday after a bitter factional fighting with loyalists to President Park Geun-hye.

They will register their own parliamentary negotiation group and establish a new party, tentatively named the New Conservative Party for Reform, on Jan. 24 to prepare for the presidential election.

The conservative party has been dogged by a factional feud that has escalated since a major scandal involving Park and her confidante broke in October. She was impeached by parliament earlier this month.

The group initially said 35 lawmakers will leave. Around 30 members are expected to tender their resignations from the party Tuesday, with more to join in early January.


Issue Keywords
Most Liked
Most Saved
Most Viewed More
Send Feedback
How can we improve?
Thanks for your feedback!