Go to Contents Go to Navigation

S. Korea extends travel ban on 6 countries in Middle East, Africa

All News 10:37 January 03, 2017

SEOUL, Jan. 3 (Yonhap) -- South Korea has extended its travel ban on six countries in the Middle East and Africa as part of its effort to protect its people, the foreign ministry said Tuesday.

South Koreans will be banned from traveling to Iraq, Syria, Yemen, Libya, Somalia, Afghanistan and some regions in the Philippines until July 31. It is a 6-month extension of the previous ban that was scheduled to end Jan. 31.

The move was aimed at protecting South Korean people's lives and property from those countries and regions suffering political instability, frequent terror threats and poor security infrastructure, the ministry said.

Anyone who violates the travel ban will face an up to one-year imprisonment and fine of 10 million won (US$8,270), the ministry said.


Send Feedback
How can we improve?
Thanks for your feedback!