Go to Contents Go to Navigation

S. Korea seeks UNESCO World Heritage designation for 7 mountain temples

All News 10:06 February 02, 2017

SEOUL, Feb. 2 (Yonhap) -- South Korea's Cultural Heritage Administration (CHA) submitted an application last Friday to list seven Buddhist mountain temples for a UNESCO World Heritage site, the state-run agency said Thursday.

The seven temples, all located on mountains, are Beopju on Mount Songni, Tongdo on Mount Yeongchuk, Buseok on Mount Bonghwang, Bongjeong on Mount Cheondeung, Magok on Mount Taehwa, Seonam on Mount Jogye and Daeheung on Mount Duryun.

Whether the temples will be listed will be determined next year after a site review by the International Council on Monuments and Sites (ICOMOS), a nongovernmental international organization.

In August, the CHA chose the seven mountain temples as a possible item that could be inscribed on the UNESCO list.

"The temples, since their establishment, have continued the tradition of Korean Buddhism that is both religious and deeply rooted in people's lives," an official from the agency said.

Meanwhile, the decision on the inscription of Seoul City Wall will be made at the 41st session of the UNESCO World Heritage Committee in Krakow, Poland, from July 2-12.

This Yonhap file photo shows Beopju Temple on Mount Songni, 180 kilometers south of Seoul. Beopju and six other mountain temples are seeking the title of World Heritage. (Yonhap)


Send Feedback
How can we improve?
Thanks for your feedback!