Go to Contents Go to Navigation

Cheong Wa Dae to have two chiefs of staff under latest revision

All Headlines 19:21 May 11, 2017

SEOUL, May 11 (Yonhap) -- New South Korean President Moon Jae-in will have two chiefs of staff working for him at the presidential office Cheong Wa Dae instead of the customary one, the office said Thursday.

The change to the structure of the presidential office was approved by a previously unscheduled Cabinet meeting.

The revision created a new post for the chief of staff for policy who will be largely tasked with coordinating economic and social policies that include job creation.

Im Jong-seok, Moon's chief of staff appointed only on the previous day, will oversee political and legal issues along with issues related to the management and operation of Cheong Wa Dae itself.

Im will have five senior presidential secretaries under his wing including the chief secretaries for civil and personnel affairs.

The new chief of staff for policy to be named will supervise three senior secretaries and two advisors for economy and science-technology, according to Cheong Wa Dae.

The total number of employees at Cheong Wa Dae will remain unchanged at 443 under the latest revision.

However, the number of senior presidential secretaries will be reduced to eight from the current 10, while the presidential office will end up with two ministerial officials, the two chiefs of staff, instead of one.


Issue Keywords
Most Liked
Most Saved
Most Viewed More
Send Feedback
How can we improve?
Thanks for your feedback!