Go to Contents Go to Navigation

EU adopts additional sanctions against N. Korea

All News 22:10 June 08, 2017

BRUSSELS, June 8 (Yonhap) -- The European Union (EU) unveiled a set of additional sanctions against North Korea on Thursday in line with the latest move from the United Nations (UN) to punish Pyongyang for its nuclear and missile provocations.

The EU's decision follows the U.N. Security Council's adoption of Resolution 2356 on June 2, which added a total of four entities and 14 officials to the sanctions list.

The four are the North's military unit handling ballistic missiles Strategic Rocket Force, Koryo Bank, Kang Bong General Trading Corp. and Korea Kumsan Trading Co.

The adoption came after a series of successful missile tests by North Korea that demonstrated steady progress in its pursuit of various types of missiles, with an eye toward a nuclear-tipped intercontinental ballistic missile capable of reaching the United States.

It was the seventh resolution the Security Council has adopted to impose sanctions on North Korea over its nuclear and missile programs since its first nuclear test in 2006. The new resolution came six months after the previous resolution was adopted in November to punish the North's fifth nuclear test in September.

The addition brought the total number of those on the list to 53 individuals and 46 entities. The blacklisted will be slapped with global asset freeze and travel ban.

A group of North Korean soldiers looks down the southern side of the inter-Korean truce village of Panmunjom from the rooftop of Panmungak Pavilion on June 2, 2017. (Yonhap)(END)


Issue Keywords
Most Liked
Most Saved
Most Viewed More
Send Feedback
How can we improve?
Thanks for your feedback!