Go to Contents Go to Navigation

Seventeen drops new self-produced record for summer

All Headlines 18:13 July 16, 2018

SEOUL, July 16 (Yonhap) -- K-pop boy band Seventeen dropped another self-produced record on Monday, a collection of six summer tracks that accentuate the trademark bubbly concept of the 13-member boy band.

The new album, "You Make My Day," includes three tracks that bring together all 13 Seventeen members, plus another three tracks by the group's three sub-units.

The main track, "Oh My!," is a composition by member Woozi and producer Bumzu that depicts the captivating moment of falling in love from the perspective of the members in their early adulthood.

The duo jointly composed five of the six tracks, adding force to the group's nickname "self-producing" idols.

"The new album is an easy listen into which (I) put effort into carrying the feeling of the summer season. It could be a comfortable background for a drive or everyday life," Woozi said in a press showcase of the new record.

Seventeen member Woozi poses for photos during a press showcase of the boy band's fifth EP, "You Make My Day," on July 16, 2018. (Yonhap)

"Each song reflects slightly different modes of feeling you have in summer, such as a lonely sentiment on summer nights," member Seungkwan said.

"Oh My!" is a perky tune, highlighted by the so-called "Cupid dance," a motion of shooting an arrow.

Two other tracks -- "Holiday" and "Our Dawn is Hotter than Day" -- encompasses all 13 members, but the remaining three songs are each by one of the band's three sub groups.

The five-member vocal team including Woozi is in charge of "Come to Me," a song with poetic lyrics. "What's Good" and "Moonwalker" were recorded by Seventeen's hip hop and performance teams, respectively. Both of them have four members.

Since their debut in 2015, Seventeen has been wildly successful among fans outside South Korea, especially in Japan, as one of the rare boy bands with more than 10 members launched by a mid-sized talent agency.

Boosted by their success in Japan, Seventeen officially debuted in Japan on May 30 with the release of their first Japanese EP, "We Make You," which has "Call, Call, Call!" as its main track.

"While we performed in Japan, we got the feeling that we have so many fans who love us," member Mingyu said.

"That strengthened our sense of pressure and responsibility as we thought about how we could stage better music and performances to respond to the fans."

Seventeen members perform a track from their fifth EP, "You Make My Day," during a press showcase on July 16, 2018. (Yonhap)
Seventeen members perform a track from their fifth EP, "You Make My Day," during a press showcase on July 16, 2018. (Yonhap)


Send Feedback
How can we improve?
Thanks for your feedback!