Go to Contents Go to Navigation

President Moon appoints 3 new Constitutional Court justices

All Headlines 14:42 October 23, 2018

SEOUL, Oct. 23 (Yonhap) -- President Moon Jae-in on Tuesday appointed three new justices of the Constitutional Court, ending what he earlier called an unprecedented vacuum created by the parliament's failure to endorse their appointments.

The three new justices -- Kim Ki-young, Lee Jong-seok and Lee Young-jin -- were appointed in a ceremony held at the presidential office Cheong Wa Dae that was also attended by their spouses.

The ceremony came about a week after the National Assembly approved their appointment in a vote, a month after the new justices underwent parliamentary confirmation hearings.

The three justice seats in the nine-member Constitutional Court had remained vacant since their previous holders stepped down on Sept. 19.

President Moon Jae-in (C) poses for a photo with three new justices of the Constitutional Court after appointing them in a ceremony held at his office Cheong Wa Dae in Seoul on Oct. 23, 2018. They are (from L to R) Justice Kim Ki-young, Justice Lee Young-jin, Moon, Constitutional Court Chief Justice Yoo Nam-seok and Justice Lee Jong-seok. (Yonhap)


Send Feedback
How can we improve?
Thanks for your feedback!