Go to Contents Go to Navigation

President names six new secretaries for public relations, culture

All News 16:51 January 09, 2019

SEOUL, Jan. 9 (Yonhap) -- President Moon Jae-in named six new aides Wednesday as part of a reshuffle aimed at enhancing his policy drive in his third year in office.

Yoo Song-hwa, currently the secretary to the first lady, was named the new secretary to the president for public relations and will be in charge of the presidential office Cheong Wa Dae's press center, known as Chunchugwan.

Bok Ki-wang, a former lawmaker and mayor of Asan city in South Chungcheon Province, has been named the new secretary for political affairs.

The president also named two new secretaries for cultural affairs and state affairs information, while shuffling his current secretary for public relations in charge of foreign media to fill the vacancy left by Yoo.

Kim Ae-kyung, a lawyer, will serve as the new secretary in charge of foreign media, Cheong Wa Dae said.

The announcement comes one day after the president named a new chief of staff and two senior secretaries for public relations and political affairs.

Moon begins the third year of his single five-year term in May.

The president earlier said now was time to begin making progress, insisting the time his administration spent so far had been dedicated to setting the direction of its policies.

"What must especially be stressed is that it should not be progress that can be put in a report, but something that can actually be felt and agreed by the people in their own daily lives," he said while chairing the first Cabinet meeting of the year on Tuesday.


Send Feedback
How can we improve?
Thanks for your feedback!